Hubert Howe

Email ACA Regarding This Composer: 


Hubert S. Howe, Jr. was born in Portland, Oregon in 1942 and grew up in Los Angeles, California, where he began his musical studies as an oboist. He was educated at Princeton University , where he studied with J. K. Randall, Godfrey Winham and Milton Babbitt, and from which he received the A.B., M.F.A. and Ph.D. degrees. He was one of the first researchers in computer music, and became Professor of Music and Director of the Electronic Music studios at Queens College of the City University of New York. He also taught at the Juilliard School from 1974 through 1994.

In 1988-89 he held the Endowed Chair in Music at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. From 1989 to 1998 and 2000 to 2001 he was Director of the Aaron Copland School of Music at Queens College.

He has been a member of the Society of Composers, Inc. since its founding in 1965, and served on the Executive Committee from 1967 to 1971, in which capacity he published the first several volumes of the Society's Proceedings. He served as President of the League of Composers-International Society for Contemporary Music, U.S. section from 1970 until 1979, in which capacity he directed the first ISCM World Music Days ever held outside of Europe. In 1980, he received a commission from the CSC at the University of Padua, Italy, for his composition Astrazioni (Abstractions), which was presented at the Biennale of Venice. He has been a member of the International Computer Music Association and directed the International Computer Music Conference at Queens College in 1980. He is a member of the American Composers Alliance and BMI. He has been a member of the American Composers Alliance since 1974 and currently serves as President.

In 1994, he was the composer-in-residence of the Third Annual Florida Electroacoustic Music Festival at the University of Florida in Gainesville, and he has appeared at most of these festivals in subsequent years. Recent performances have also taken place at the Electronic Music Midwest Festivals, at the Eighth and Ninth Biennial Symposium on Arts and Technology at Connecticut College, at the Society of Composers, Inc. National Conference, at the 2003 International Computer Music Conference in Singapore, and at the 26th Annual New Music and Art Festival at Bowling Green State University.

His music has been recorded on Opus One and Capstone Records.

A new CD was released in 2011 by Parma/Ravello. Click here to purchase or hear samples.

ACA List for Hubert Howe

1 19-tone Clusters (2010)
fixed media playback
2 Abstractions (1980)
electronic tape (CD)
Flute and B-flat Clarinet
4 Cacophony (1999)
electronic tape (CD)
5 Cacophony II (2002)
6 Canons (1974)
electronic tape (CD)
7 Chamber Concerto (2001)
8 Chamber Concerto No. 2 (2004)
9 Chamber Concerto No. 3 (2006)
10 CHIMERA (2011)
11 Clusters (electronic) (2010)
audio; stereo or octaphonic versions


Clusters (excerpt)
12 Clusters (for wind ensemble) (2010)
fl/pic,cl,ob,ebCl,bsCl, SATB saxes, hn, tpt, tbn, tba, pf, perc (chimes, xyl, mrba), db
13 Composition for Piano (2009)
piano solo
14 Computer Variations (1967)
electronic tape (CD)
15 Concerto for Piano and Strings (1989)
pf, str
16 Concerto for Two Keyboards (1989)
pf & synthesizer or 2 synthesizers
17 Elegy for Strings (1987)
18 Eleven Preludes for Piano (1999)
solo piano


Excerpt - Emergence
21 EXPANSIONS (2016)
electronics - fixed media audio
solo piano
23 Fantasy on the Square Roots of 2 and 3 (1999)
electronic tape (CD)
24 Freeze (1972)
25 Glissando Piece (1978)
electronic tape (CD)
26 Groans (2007)
27 Harmonic Fantasy (2003)
electronic tape (CD)
28 Harmonic Fantasy (No. 2) for Piano and Fixed Media (2015)
piano, fixed media audio
29 Hexachordal Etudes (2016)
solo piano
30 Improvisation No. 2 (1994)
electronic tape (CD)
31 Improvisation No. 3 (1995)
electronic tape (CD)
32 Improvisation No. 4 (1998)
electronic tape (CD)
34 Inharmonic Fantasy (2005)
electronic tape (CD)
35 Inharmonic Fantasy No. 2 (2007)
electronic tape (CD)
audio fixed media (stereo, 4 and 8 versions available)
audio fixed media
38 Inharmonic Fantasy No. 5 (2015)
fixed media audio
39 Interchanges (1971)
electronic tape (CD)
40 Iridescence (2002)
electronic tape (CD)
41 Kaleidoscope (1969)
electronic tape (CD)
42 LongGong (2001)
electronic tape (CD)
43 Luminescence (1985)
electronic tape (CD)
44 Macro Structure No. 2 (2006)
electronic tape (CD)
45 Macro-Structure (1971)
electronic tape (CD)
46 Meditation (1993)
electronic tape (CD)
47 Mosaic (2001)
electronic tape (CD)
48 Nonet (1996)
solo piano
50 PI
fixed media, audio playback
51 Piece for DX-7 II Synthesizer Ensemble (1987)
4 Yamaha DX-7 II Synthesizers
52 Piece for Five Octave Keyboard (1986)
piano or synthesizer
53 Prism (revision of Scherzo, 1976) (1992)
orch (2-2-2-bcl-2, 4-2-2-1, str)
54 Procession (1989)
3 synthesizers
55 Quintet (1994)
fl, (a)cl, vln,vcl,pf
solo Eb alto sax
58 Scrunch! (2005)
electronic tape (CD)
59 Sextet (2008)
fl, cl, vn, vla, vcl, pno
60 Six Songs (1966)
61 Symphony (1989)
2 fl,2,ob,2 cl,2 bsn,4 hn,2 tpt,2 tbn,tb,str.
62 SYMPHONY NO. 2 (1992)
63 SYMPHONY NO. 3 (2008)
alternate versions: audio playback, fl, cl, ob, bn, hn, tpt, trb, tba, pno, strings


excerpt from II, symphony no. 3 by Hubert Howe
64 Symphony No. 4 - chamber orch (2010)
fl, ob, cl, bsn, hn, tpt, tbn, tba, pf, strings
65 SYMPHONY No. 4 - full orchestra (2010)
2222 2121 piano, strings
67 Three Studies in Timbre (1973)
electronic tape (CD)
68 Timbre Study No. 4 (1977)
electronic tape (CD)
69 Timbre Study No. 5 (1991)
electronic tape (CD)
70 Timbre Study No. 6 (1997)
electronic tape (CD)
71 Timbre Study No. 7 (2008)
electronic audio playback; quad and octaphonic versions
solo piano
73 TRIO (2011)
cl, vcl, pf
74 UNBALANCED (2014)
alto sax, fixed media audio

Filter by ensemble type:

Filter by Year Authored