John Gibson

ACE Publications

1 Alliances (1985)
vln, vla, vc

2 Bagatelle (1983)
vln, pno

3 A Bao A Qu (1987)
fl/alto fl, vln, vc, pno

4 Beyond Our Reach (1997)
fl, bcl, bsn, pno, vln, vla, vc

5 Blue Traces (piano solo and electronics) (2009)
piano and computer, with optional string orchestra

6 Conveyor (2007)
electronic - stereo

7 Dancing on a Wire (1994)
3 sax, 2 synth, 2 el gtr, el bass

8 Day Trip (2000)
electronic - stereo and 5.1 surround versions

9 Degrees of Freedom (2011)
solo piano

10 Detour (2003)
electronic - stereo

11 Driptick (2010)
electronic - stereo and 5.1 surround sound mixes

12 EDGEWATER (2018)
video with audio, fixed media
no score

13 Elements (2008)
video and 5.1 surround sound

14 Fits and Starts (1996)
trombone and electric guitar

15 A Flash of Green (1987)

16 Flights of Fancy (1988)
fl, ob, cl, bcl, bsn, hn, tpt, tbn, perc, hp, pno, 2 vln, vla, vc, cb

17 House of the Dreamers (1992)

18 IN FLIGHT (2016)
SSAATTBB, electronics

19 In-between (1990)
fl, cl, vln, vc, pno

20 Jangle (1996)
two pianos

21 Out of Hand (2008)
trumpet, trombone, and computer

23 Serenata (1986)
solo cello

24 sLowlife (2008)
electronic - 8 channels

25 Slumber (2006)
electronic - stereo and 5.1 surround sound versions

26 Thrum (1998)
electronic - stereo

27 Uncanny Valley (2012)
piano, reader, and electronics

28 Wakeup Call (2005)
electronics - stereo

29 The Widening Gyre (2011)
fl, ob, cl, bscl or bsn - hn, tpt, tbn, perc (2), hp, 2 vln, vla, vc, cb, electronics

30 Wind Farm (2009)
7 or more laptop computers

Filter by ensemble type:

Filter by Year Authored

Email ACA Regarding This Composer: 


John Gibson’s (b. 1960) acoustic and electroacoustic music has been presented in the US, Canada, Europe, South America and Asia. His instrumental compositions have been performed by many groups, including the London Sinfonietta, the Da Capo Chamber Players, the Seattle Symphony, the Music Today Ensemble, Speculum Musicae, Ekko!, and at the Tanglewood, Marlboro and June in Buffalo festivals.

Presentations of his electroacoustic music include concerts at the Seoul International Computer Music Festival, the Bourges Synthèse Festival, the Brazilian Symposium on Computer Music, the International Biennial for Electroacoustic Music of Sao Paulo, Keio University in Japan, the Third Practice Festival, the Florida Electroacoustic Music Festival, and several ICMC and SEAMUS conferences. Among his grants and awards are a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, two ASCAP Foundation Grants, and the Paul Jacobs Memorial Fund Commission from the Tanglewood Music Center.

Recordings of his music appear on the Centaur, SEAMUS, and Everglade labels. Gibson holds a Ph.D. in music from Princeton University, where he studied with Milton Babbitt, Paul Lansky, Steven Mackey, and others. He writes sound processing and synthesis software, and has taught composition and computer music at the University of Virginia, Duke University, and the University of Louisville. He is now Associate Professor of Composition at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.