Robert Scott Thompson


Thompson is a composer of both instrumental and electroacoustic music and is currently Professor of Music Composition at Georgia State University in Atlanta. He earned the B.Mus. degree from the University of Oregon and M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of California at San Diego (UCSD). His primary teachers include Bernard Rands, Roger Reynolds, Joji Yuasa, and F. Richard Moore.

He has created work in a wide variety of forms ranging from chamber and orchestral music to works for the virtuoso soloist, computer music, and video and performance art. He is the recipient of several prizes and distinctions for his music including the First Prize in the 2003 Musica Nova Competition (Czech Republic), the First Prize in the 2001 Pierre Schaeffer Competition (Italy) and awards in the XVI Concorso Internazionale "Luigi Russolo" (Italy), Irino Prize Foundation Competition for Chamber Music (Japan), and Concours International de Musique Electroacoustique de Bourges - including the Commande Commission 2007 (France), among others.

He was a Research Assistant of the Center for Music Experiment (CME) Computer Audio Research Lab (CARL) during the 1980s, assisting significant composers in the realization of advanced computer music works.  In 1991, he was named a Fulbright Fellow and Research Scholar by the Council for the International Exchange of Scholars  (CIES) and was Composer in Residence at the Danish Institute of Electroacoustic Music (DIEM) where he collaborated on fundamental research in computer music and composed the long-form acousmatic work - The Strong Eye.  More recently (2007), he was Composer in Residence at the Institut International de Musique Electroacoustique (France, 2007) working on an IMEB Commande Commission.

ACE Publications

16 title(s)
Robert Scott Thompson Elegy of the Eremocene Solo Cello
Robert Scott Thompson NINTH WAVE Violoncello and Electroacoustic Sound
Robert Scott Thompson NULLIUS IN VERBA electroacoustic computer music
Robert Scott Thompson PARATAXIS Alto Flute, Clarinet, Trombone, Viola, Violoncello, Piano, Percussion(1)
Robert Scott Thompson ENTROPY II solo piano
Robert Scott Thompson METTĀ soprano saxophone, percussion, electro-acoustic sounds
Robert Scott Thompson FILIGREE AND SHADOW -
soprano saxophone, viola
Robert Scott Thompson PROJECTION: MOBILE - STABILE - MOBILE flute/alto flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, cello, piano
Robert Scott Thompson VIVID AIR -
percussion solo with electronics
Robert Scott Thompson PASSAGE -
clarinet, electronics (MaxMSP)
Robert Scott Thompson PASSAGE clarinet and electroacoustics
Robert Scott Thompson MERIDIAN solo flute
Robert Scott Thompson Canto (de Las Sombras) clarinet and computer-generated electronics
Robert Scott Thompson FLEXURE -
2 violins
Robert Scott Thompson Widening Gyre clarinet, signal processing, and computer-generated tape
Robert Scott Thompson NEXI violin, viola

Additional Works