ACA Summer Festival 2011

ACA Summer Festival 2011
Symphony Space Thalia
2537 Broadway at 95th St.
New York, NY 10025

ACA's composer-produced concert series this year is made possible with support from BMI, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music, Meet the Composer's Cary New Music Performance Fund, the Alice M. Ditson Fund for Music at Columbia University, Yamaha Artist Services, and many generous individual contributors. The American Composer's Alliance (a BMI-affiliated publisher) is a nonprofit corporation in the State of New York.

Click on the day/date links below to see program notes for each of our four concerts:

Monday, June 13, 2011  7:30pm

Download concert program here

Arthur Kreiger - Strike Zone for percussion & fixed media;  Peter Jarvis, percussion
John Eaton - The Greeks: Ancient to Modern - Marcy Richardson, soprano; Christopher Oldfather and Vicky Chow, pianos; Karl Kramer, conductor.
John Melby - Aftermath - Soprano and Fixed Media - Patricia Sonego, soprano
Hubert Howe - 19-Tone Clusters - fixed media, with Linda Past, dancer
Richard Brooks - Hymn to Intellectual Beauty - Patricia Sonego, soprano; Taka Kigawa, piano
Robert Ceely - Ontogeny - fixed media
Gheorghe Costinescu - Essay in Sound - Stephen Gosling, piano

Wednesday, June 15, 2011   7:30pm

Download concert program here

Nicholas Csicsko - Chaconne for Violin and Piano - Veronique Mathieu, violin and David Kaplan, piano
Steven R. Gerber - Duet for solo clarinet, and Dialogues for clarinet and piano; Alan Kay, clarinet, Steven R. Gerber, piano
Raoul Pleskow - Tre Ballati, and Sextet with Voice - Lunatics at Large
Frederick Tillis - Spiritual Fantasy 24 & 33 for clarinet and piano - Lunatics at Large
Elizabeth Bell - Soliloquy for solo cello - Andrea Lee
Sean Shepherd - Dust - for Violin and Piano - Veronique Mathieu, violin and David Kaplan, piano
Marilyn Bliss - Beneath the Azure Sky - Lunatics at Large

Thursday, June 16, 2011   7:30pm   

Download concert program here

Jody Rockmaker - Marsyas - Martin Schuring, oboe; Lynne Aspnes, harp
Christopher Shultis
Devisadero - Falko Steinbach , piano
Joyce Hope Suskind - Voices of Women; Susan Gonzalez, soprano; Joyce Hope Suskind, piano
Lewis Nielson - You Choose - Sarah Pyle, flute; Ran Duan, piano
Barbara Jazwinski - Fantasy on Jazz - Esther Lamneck, clarinet and Martha Locker, piano
Glenn Stallcop - Meditation at Oyster River - Eleanor Stallcop-Horrox, soprano, Glenn Stallcop, piano.

Friday, June 17, 2011   7:30pm

Download concert program here

David Fulmer - Himmelfahrt in die Tiefen der Nacht - Second Instrumental Unit with Eliot Gattegno, solo soprano saxophone
Edith Borroff
- Sonata for Horn and Piano - Second Instrumental Unit
Margaret Fairlie-Kennedy - Jabberwocky and High Flight - Anthony Pulgram, tenor; Marcia Eckert, piano; Sam Budish and Jonathan Smith, percussion
Elliott Schwartz - Darwin's Dream II - Bowdoin New Music Ensemble,  recorded sounds, and visual projections
Jan Gilbert - Suite for String Quartet and Veena - SIU Quartet, with Nirmala Rajasekar, veena
Lansing McLoskey - blur - Michael Shane, clarinet; Lisa Preimesberger, Basset horn; video by Rita Blitt

Select the Date Links above for details and program notes;
Contact:    festival  [AT] composers [DOT] com for more information.

Online purchase of tickets for all concerts in the series here;