Unique gift idea: The ACA Bulletin 1952-65; Set of 12 postcards

To support the ACA historical preservation project, donors of $75 or more will receive a set of 12 historical ACA Bulletin postcards, with matching envelopes. The ACA Bulletin covers of the 1950s and 60s featured modern drawings of American composers, and colorful abstract designs. Place an order by using the "donate" link on this page, or contact ACA.

This set (1) of post-card size cover reproductions  features the composers Ben Weber, Otto Luening, Henry Cowell, George Perle, Gordon Binkerd, Ulysses Kay, Charles Ives, Wallingford Riegger, Arthur Berger, Robert McBride, Vivian Fine, Edwin Gerschefski, and Daniel Pinkham.


Two upcoming opportunities, new orchestral music readings; commission, for emerging composers

The Nashville Symphony and EarShot, the National Orchestral Composition Discovery Network, announce the Nashville Symphony New Music Readings, to be held April 7 and 8, 2010, in Nashville, TN. The Readings are designed to be an outstanding artistic and professional-development opportunity for emerging composers, and are also an excellent way for emerging composers to gain visibility in the field of orchestral music. Deadline Dec. 15, 2009. For guidelines and further information, click here.

American Composers Orchestra and LVMH announce “A Greener New York City” Commission for emerging composers. The commission is made possible through a unique partnership between LVMH and the acclaimed new music orchestra that grows out of a shared commitment to support emerging American artists. One composer will be selected through a national call for proposals, and will be awarded a commission of $7,000 and a future performance by American Composers Orchestra. Deadline for submissions, Jan. 15, 2010.

Call for works for ACA Festival of New Music 2010

Save the Date:   June 17-19, 2010 at Symphony Space, New York City. To submit a work for consideration, please contact ACA before December 15th with your proposal, with instrumentation details, complete duration, and provide a CD or mp3 recording/link if available. Also include names of performers, or if you would prefer to work with one of ACA's ensembles in residence for 2010. Completed score must be submitted by January 30th. Priority consideration will be given to ACA members--past and present, BMI-affiliated composers, and composers who are 35 or younger as of June, 2010. Please send a note of intent to [email protected] and request more information, before mailing scores to the ACA office. Please note our new office mailing address. Highlights of last year's  festival are here.

Congratulations, Leslie Bassett

"Hammered Strings and Whistling Pipes" for piano and pipe organ, by Leslie Bassett, was recently premiered by Philip and Joy Hayner at Piedmont College, as well as "Sound Off!!!" for 10 percussionists, at the Pro Musica series of Gainesville, Georgia. In May of 2009, Bassett was awarded an honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degree by California State University, Fresno, a very happy occasion.

Washington Square Contemporary Music Society, 33rd season


Thursday, December 3, 2009 - 8:00pm

Concert I: The Washington Square Ensemble Timbre Journeys Thursday, Dec. 3, 2009 at 8pm with music of Sheree Clement, Brian Fennelly (Skyscapes IV (2006) NY Premiere, Arthur Kampela, Caroline Mallonee, Morris Rosenzweig, and Brian Schober. Additional concerts this season coming up on March 3rd and April 7th. Merkin Concert Hall, 129 W. 67th St. Admission $20/$15 seniors/$8 students.

Golden Fleece Ltd, The Composers' Chamber Theatre


Thursday, December 17, 2009 - 8:00pm

Golden Fleece, Ltd. The Composers Chamber Theatre, Lou Rodgers, Producing Artistic Director presents:  Song New York Concert, Thursday, Dec. 17th at 8pm. Works by Seymour Barab, Richard Brooks, Thomas Carlo Bo, Charles Coleman, Lou Rodgers, Ned Rorem, Mira J. Spektor, Virgil Thomson; Greenwich House Music School 46 Barrow Street. Admission $15/$10 students and seniors.  Also, The Square One Series of Opera/Music Theater works in Progress, Nov. 1, 8, and 15, at Studios 353 W. 48th St. 2nd floor. Reservations/More Info 212-691-6105.

"The Secret Agent" with music by Michael Dellaira, CCO season opener, Oct. 22 and 23 in NYC


Thursday, October 22, 2009 - 8:00pm

The Center for Contemporary Opera's 2009-2010 season opener, The Secret Agent; Thursday and Friday, October 22 and 23 @ 8pm

Atelier: New Work-in-Progress, Michael Dellaira, composer; J.D. Mcclatchy, librettist

Based on Joseph Conrad's novel, The Secret Agent, this new operatic work-in-progress is set in fin-de-siècle London.
Conrad's masterpiece and the only novel he set in England, The Secret Agent (1907) is the terrifying tale of an anarchist plot to blow up the Greenwich Observatory, at the time the world’s most modern symbol of learning and science.

Tickets $20 include post-performance wine reception; the cell 338 West 23 Street new york new york


Subscribe to American Composers Alliance RSS