Sollberger's "From a Balloon" wins children's choir contest

The winner of the 2009 Gifford Children’s Choir Composition Contest was ACA member Harvey Sollberger of Strawberry Point, Iowa. Sollberger’s piece “From a Balloon” for SA choir, piano and violin had the unique qualities the choir was looking for.

Sollberger turned his winning piece into a set entitled “Three Riley Songs.”  The pieces received their premiere at the Wisconsin Choral Directors Association Convention in January, 2010 with the composer present.  The pieces were performed again at the Case H.S. area Choir Festival on 3/25/10.  Videos of the performance are available on the joinchoir channel at YouTube. Information available at:

New York premiere of Lawrence Dillon's String Quartet No. 4: The Infinite Sphere by the Daedalus Quartet on May 16.


Sunday, May 16, 2010 - 4:00pm

The Howland Chamber Music Circle in Beacon, New York, will present the Daedalus Quartet on Sunday, May 16, featuring the NY premiere of Lawrence Dillon's String Quartet No. 4: The Infinite Sphere. Also on the program will be the Mozart Quartet in B Flat Major, K. 589 and the Brahms Quintet in f minor, op. 35 with pianist, Benjamin Hochman.

On Saturday, May 8, Tenor Christopher Aaron Smith will premiere Dillon's "Dog Songs" at The Church of St. John's the Evangelist in Boston, MA.

Lecture on composer Stefan Wolpe at Jewish Music Forum, March 26th


Friday, March 26, 2010 - 10:30am

Dr. Brigid Cohen will present a lecture entitled "'In a Land
Large as an Apple Tree': Stefan Wolpe's Avant-Garde Music, Pedagogy, and Pacifist Zionism in 1930's Palestine."
NYU Professor Michael Beckerman  will contribute a response.

The Jewish Music Forum, now in its sixth season, is a project of
The American Society for Jewish Music, with support from The
American Jewish Historical Society.
Event details are as follows:

March 26, 2010
10:30 A.M.
Center for Jewish History 

15 West 16th Street

New York, NY

All events are FREE and open to the public.

Cutting Edge New Music Festival - Sequitur performs world premiere of Kristin Kuster's 'Here, Leaving'


Monday, April 12, 2010 - 7:30pm

Cutting Edge New Music Festival 2010

Kristin Kuster:
Here, Leaving (World Premiere), for solo cello, 2 violins, viola, bass, marimba

12 April 2010, 7:30 pm
Symphony Space

2537 Broadway at 95th St.
(212) 864-1414 |
Tickets: $20 / $15


This concert also features music by Sebastian Currier, Harold Meltzer, Laurie San Martin, Sean Shepherd, Jeremy Thurlow and Anna Weesner.

Hubert Howe's computer-generated "Clusters" to be performed March 26 at the New York City Electronic Music Festival


Thursday, March 25, 2010 - 12:00am

The CUNY Graduate Center will host the Second New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival on March 25-27.  Nineteen concerts will feature works by 132 composers from five continents.  

Concerts will take place at the Graduate Center, 365 Fifth Avenue, and at other locations in New York City.

The complete schedule is posted at  The festival web site is   Two late evening events will take place at Galapagos Art Space ( and Issue Project Room ( in Brooklyn.

NYCEMF is sponsored by Meyer Sound. NYCEMF is supported in part by Harvestworks and the CUNY Doctoral Students' Council. Our special thanks go out to David Olan of the Graduate Center Music Department.

The organizing committee for the Festival consists of Prof. Hubert Howe of Queens College, Paul Riker and Zachary Seldess of the CUNY Graduate Center, and Braxton Sherouse of the University of Florida.

See full schedule with"Read More" link

Andrew Thomas's Pythagoras and the Four Hammers to be performed by BlairPercussion Vortex on April 12


Monday, April 12, 2010 - 8:00pm

BlairPercussion VORTEX, the percussion ensemble of Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music, Michael Holland, director, will perform Andrew Thomas's Pythagoras and the Four Hammers for percussion quartet in Ingram Hall, Vanderbilt University in Nashville, TN.

The group welcomes guest violinists DBR (Daniel Bernard Roumain) and Tracy Silverman, electronica/remix artist Brad ‘Kali’ Bowden, choreographer Kelvin Amburgey with the Shards Dance Project, and the Hart String Quartet.This event, in Ingram Hall is a benefit for the American Red Cross International Response Fund.


Earle Brown's Contemporary Sound Series, Box II, wins German Music Critics Award

Recorded between 1960 and 1973, the original eighteen LPs of Earle Brown’s legendary Contemporary Sound Series have been highly sought after in the secondary market since 1978 when they were discontinued. These rare and historically important recordings of international avant-garde music have been carefully digitized and remastered by the Earle Brown Music Foundation. The complete series is being released by WERGO in six CD boxed sets. For a complete list of the winners, click here. For more information about what's happening at the Earle Brown Music Foundation, or to sign up for the EBMF Newsletter, click here.

BGSU Trustees honor composer Burton Beerman as Distringuished Artist Professor

In his nearly 40 years at the BGSU College of Musical Arts, Burton Beerman has helped make Bowling Green synonymous with new and experimental music. His own pieces have been performed around the world and have influenced a generation of composers and performance artists.

On Feb. 26, BGSU recognized him as a Distinguished Artist Professor. Conferred by the board of trustees, the designation recognizes professors who have earned national and international recognition through research and publication or creative and artistic achievement. Read more

New York Composers Circle to feature John Eaton, Brian Fennelly, Richard Brooks


Tuesday, March 30, 2010 - 7:30pm

John Eaton 75th Birthday Concert to be presented by the New York Composers Circle, featuring the No Borders Quartet. Music by John Eaton, Patricia Leonard, Dinu Ghezzo, Dana Richardson, Brian Fennelly, Richard Brooks, Mauro Porro, and John de Clef Pinero will be presented at Loenard Nimoy Thalia at Peter Norton Symphony Space, 95th Street and Broadway, New York City. The No Borders Quartet features Alessandro Roselletti, piano; Andrea Biagini, flute; Michele Bianchini, saxophone, and Guido Arbonelli, clarinet. Tickets $15 in advance through Symphony Space; $20 day of concert;

Humboldt Brass Chamber Music Workshop Announces 2010 Composition Contest Prizewinners

Tony Clements, Director of the Humboldt Brass Chamber Music Workshop at Humboldt State University, Arcata, CA, announced the 2010 Composition Contest winners on Monday, February 15, 2010.

John W. N. Palmer from Kingston, Ontario, Canada won the first place prize of US$2000 with his sextet titled “Neo-Baroque Suite.” Leon Steward, of Castroville, TX, took second place, winning US$1000 for “The Invasion of America.” The US$500 third place prize was awarded to James Joannesson Kopf of Washington, CA, for “The Rupert Suite.” Peter Felice, of Monticello, IN received Honorable Mention recognition for “Stages of Tragedy.”


Subscribe to American Composers Alliance RSS