Serenity in Canada and in Russia

World champion accordionist Alex Sevastian and clarinetist Julian Milkis performed Ray Luedeke's Serenity on November 25 on the Les Amis concert series in Cobourg, Ontario. In January they will perform the piece again, in St. Peterburg, Russia. Then, on March 10, they will be in New York City to perform Serenity at Symphony Space. Included in the New York program will be Tango Dreams for string trio and accordion, also by Ray Luedeke, as well as music by famed Georgian composer Giya Kanceli (Miniatures for clarinet and bayan). 

Scott Joplin upcoming Centenary year brings performances of his opera, Treemonisha


Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 8:00pm

Opera Nova presents in full: Treemonisha

Three-act opera by composer/pianist Scott Joplin, with orchestrations by T. J. Anderson. School performances:Tuesday February 28 - Friday March 3, 2017 Thomas Jefferson School, Arlington VA; Public performance: Saturday March 4, 2017

Jose Sacin, conductor

Louis Karchin - premiere performances Jan. 29, March 15


Sunday, January 29, 2017 - 3:00pm
Daedalus Quartet

News for Louis Karchin:

On January 29, the distinguished mother-daughter duo of Susan and Renee Jolles (harp and violin) will premiere Barcarole Variations, a work they commissioned from the composer last year.  This will be part of a concert at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY and will also include music by David Liptak. It begins with a pre-concert talk at 2pm followed by the concert at 3pm.

Louis Karchin's Dreamscape - World Premiere in Venice, Nov. 19th


Saturday, November 19, 2016 - 8:00pm
Letizia Michielon, founder of Plurimo Ensemble

Dreamscape - a new work by Louis Karchin for oboe and violin will be premiered by the Plurimo Ensemble of Venice, Italy.  The concert, to be held at the beautiful Sale Apollinee, (the Chamber Recital Hall of La Fenice), will center around musical responses to Mallarme's poem, Apparition.  Performing a prior setting of this poem by Debussy on the same concert will be upcoming young soprano, Marisa Karchin.


Bassist Hervé Rémond performs "Mr. T His Fancy" by Barney Childs

Performer's note:

"Mr. T His Fancy" (1967) is the third opus of the American composer Barney Childs (1926-2000), dedicated to the double bass after "Sonata for Bass Alone" (1960) and "Closing Music I" (1964). Like the first two pieces "Mr T." Is written and expressly dedicated to his friend the bassist Bertram Turetzky, to whom we owe credit for a revolution in the practice of double bass as a solo instrument in the second half of the 20th century.


Subscribe to American Composers Alliance RSS