ACA News and Events

"To encourage the inclusion of American works in the programs of performers and performing organizations.”
-- "Aims of the Alliance," from ACA Bulletin, Vol 1, No. 1, April 1938


Jan Gilbert's choral "Thillana" in two NYC performances, June 13, 14


Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 7:30pm

Amuse Singers will be performing Jan Gilbert’s Thillana Tuesday, June 13 at Rutgers Presbyterian Church, 236 West 73rd Street, NYC, and Wednesday, June 14 at Church of the Heavenly Rest at Fifth Ave and 90th St. NYC. Both concerts are at 7:30pm. This program features work by contemporary composers who draw on the tonalities and rhythms of non-Western music, featuring Jan Gilbert's THILLANA, Abbie Betinis' From Behind the Caravan, and works by Zhou Long, Chen Yi, Gabriela Lena Frank, Ivan Moody, and Jaakko Mantyjarva.

North/South Chamber Orchestra winter/spring season includes new works by Elizabeth Bell and Andrew Thomas, March 14th - postponed due to weather


Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 8:00pm
North/South Ensemble
The continuation of North/South Consonance 2016-17 season has already delivered an astonishing number of rare and amazing works, by composers including Carson Cooman, Claudio Santoro, Margarita Zelenaia, Hilary Tann, Edmund Cionek, and  more.  On March 14,  hear a world premiere by Andrew William Thomas, and a chamber concerto by Elizabeth Bell, plus music director/conductor Max Lifchitz. Since 1980, North/South Consonance has garnered widespread praise for its eloquent performances of music by composers of our time.

David Liptak's FOCUSING performed by the ensemble Deviant Septet


Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 3:00pm

Deviant Septet presents the world premiere of Brad and Doug Balliett's new work for septet and chorus, Oedipus the King.  Joined by The Cecilia Chorus of New York, with 2-time TONY award-winner Stephen Spinella narrating, and the Boston City Singers, Deviant Septet is thrilled to bring this new and exciting work to life.

Cameron-Wolfe at the Not Only Music Festival, March 3


Friday, March 3, 2017 - 5:30pm

Richard Cameron-Wolfe’s chamber orchestra work “Reconciliation: Deliberations on Stravinsky” will appear on a 5:30PM, Friday, March 3 program of the “Not Only Music Festival - # Impreza” in Kharkiv, Ukraine. Curator of the project is leading Ukrainian musicologist Yulia Nikolayevskaya. The first half of the program features music for instruments and electronics by one of the great Eastern European women composers, Alla Zagaykevych.

Lansing McLoskey wins the American Prize (Choral Div) with [...]Qumran Psa[lms...]

Lansing McLoskey's work, [...]Qumran Psa[lms...] for SATB triple-choir, based on fragments from the Dead Sea Scrolls, has won the 2016 American Prize in Composition (Choral/Professional Division).  The 25-minute work from 2015 was commissioned by The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University for ensemberlino vocale in Berlin. It is a setting of psalm fragments from the Dead Sea Scrolls (aka "Qumran scrolls"). The choir is divided into three equal-sized choirs, spaced around the performance space.
Lansing McLoskey has been described as "a major talent and a deep thinker with a great ear" by the American Composers Orchestra, "an engaging, gifted composer writing smart, compelling and fascinating music" by Gramophone Magazine, and "a

Tango Dreams / Serenity - music by composers Ray Luedeke and Giya Kancheli, March 10


Friday, March 10, 2017 - 7:30pm
Julian Milkis, clarinet

Voice Afire Opera-Cabaret presents Tango Dreams / Serenity
at Symphony Space Friday March 10 at 7:30pm

Featuring World Champion accordionist Alex Sevastian and world-renowned clarinetist Julian Milkis, as well as the Voice Afire Strings, this multi-media concert moves from turbulence to “Serenity” in music by composers Ray Luedeke and Giya Kancheli. Ray Luedeke's Tango Dreams for accordion, clarinet, and string trio will include sultry tango visuals. Miniatures for Clarinet and Bayan are derived from famed, Georgian composer Giya Kancheli's music for theatre and cinema.


Refractions: 2017-1901 and Elegy for Janis - Music of Richard Cameron-Wolfe, March 17


Friday, March 17, 2017 - 7:00pm

On March 17 at Spectrum NYC, the California-based duo of cellist Susan Lamb Cook and pianist Gayle Blankenburg will perform Richard Cameron-Wolfe’s “Time Refracted”, on a concert also including music by Dutch composers Jo and Antal Sporck, Argentine composer Pablo Ortiz, and Sergei Rachmaninov. Joining the duo will be dancer-choreographer Mariah Maloney (formerly of the Trisha Brown Dance Company). Cameron-Wolfe’s piano miniature “Elegy for Janis” will also appear on the program.

Friday, March 17 at 7:00PM – Admission: $20 at the door; $10 for students and seniors. Spectrum: 121 Ludlow St. 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10002.

Anthology of 21 pieces for solo piano, new edition from ACA


Monday, February 20, 2017 - 12:00pm

All new anthology of music for solo piano from ACA. $24.95 in professional print edition. The Soul of Brevity; Collected and edited by Richard Cameron-Wolfe. Place an order at this page.
H. Leslie Adams - Etude in E Major
Elizabeth R. Austin - Mia Music
Richard Brooks - Caprice No. 5
Richard Cameron-Wolfe - Elegy for Janis
Brian Fennelly - Babbittelle (ohne tonart)
Robert Gibson - Image
Edward Jacobs - Aphorism I


Subscribe to American Composers Alliance RSS