John Melby

Email ACA Regarding This Composer: 


John Melby (b. 1941) began his musical studies as a trombonist/violinist/violist while still a child. He attended the Curtis Institute of Music, the University of Pennsylvania, and Princeton University. His composition teachers include Henry Weinberg, George Crumb, Peter Westergaard, J. K. Randall, and Milton Babbitt. In 1973 he was appointed to the Composition/Theory faculty in the School of Music of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he was Professor of Music until his retirement in August of 1997 and where he now holds the title of Professor Emeritus. He currently lives in Salem, Massachusetts.

John Melby is best known for his music written for computer-synthesized sounds. His compositions have won numerous awards and have been widely performed both in the United States and abroad. He has been the recipient of an NEA Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, an associateship in the University of Illinois Center for Advanced Study, and numerous other grants and awards, including First Prize in 1979, at the International Electroacoustic Music Awards (Bourges, France).

In recent years, he has composed a series of concerti for various instruments with computer-synthesized sounds. His other compositions in his catalog include two piano sonatas, three string quartets (the most recent of which includes tape), songs for voice and piano and voice and computer, pieces for larger ensembles, numerous compositions for tape alone, an unpublished opera, and two symphonies. His music is published by Associated Music Publishers, Merion Music, Inc. (Theodore Presser Co.), and ACA and recorded on the Albany, CRI, Advance, New World, Centaur, and Zuma labels, and on a CD issued by the Institute International de Musique Electroacoustique in Bourges, France.

He is a member of BMI, American Composers Forum, SEAMUS, the International Computer Music Association, SCI, and American Composers Alliance. His biography is included in the current edition of Who's Who in America.

ACA List for John Melby

1 AFTERMATH for Soprano and Computer (2009)
Soprano, pre-recorded sound (2, 4, or 8 channels)
2 trumpets, horn, bass trombone, tuba
violin, piano, audio playback

MelbyConcerto For Violin, Piano, ComputerExcerpt.mp3

Melby-ConcertoVln,Pno,ComputerExcerpt WinstonChoi, piano;MinghuanXu, violin
comp-synth sound (on CD), vlc
5 Concerto No. 2 for Clarinet and Computer (2006)
clarinet with CD audio for computer part
6 Concerto No. 2 for Piano and Computer (2006)


Excerpt - Melby's Concerto No.2 for Piano and Computer, Winston Choi, piano
7 Concerto No. 2 for Viola and Computer (2009)
Viola, computer-synthesized sound (on CD [stereo version] or DVD [4-channel and 8-channel versions])
8 CONCERTO No. 3 FOR PIANO AND ORCHESTRA (2010) timp.3perc/pfsolo/ 2hp/ strings
9 Concerto No. 3 for Viola and Orchestra (2013)
Picc, 2, 2, Ca, 2, BsCl, 2; 4; 2, 2, BsTbn, 1; Timp, 3 Perc; 2 Hps; solo viola; strings
10 Concerto No. 3 for Violin and Orchestra (2011) timp.;amp. cel.;3 perc./amp. vln solo/2 hp./str.
amplified violin
11 Concerto No. 3 for Violoncello and Orchestra (2012) timp.3 perc./vc solo/2 hp./str.
12 For Milton (2011)
soprano and computer-synthesized sound
13 IN DARKNESS for soprano and computer (2007)
8 channels-on DVD, computer-synthesized sound: 2 vers. available, stereo-on CD, soprano
Soprano and string quartet
15 O, wind, if winter comes... (2014)
Flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon
2 Violins, Viola, Cello, Piano
18 String Quartet No. 5 (2017)
2 vln., vla., vcl.
string quartet
19 THREE WORDSWORTH SONGS for Soprano and Computer (2005)
soprano and computer-synthesized sounds (on CD)

Filter by ensemble type:

Filter by Year Authored