Louis Karchin to conduct Washington Square Players December 16


Dec 16 2011 - 8:00pm
Washington Square Players in rehearsalWashington Square Players in rehearsalWashington Square Players to present a Koussevitzky Commission and many other new works.

The Washington Square Contemporary Music Society is gearing up for its Friday, Dec. 16 opening event, with Louis Karchin conducting two works of composers David McMullin and John Aylward, the latter a Koussevitzky commission.

Please join us at 8 PM at the Tenri Institute for a program of music by Don Freund (who will be visiting from Indiana), Canadian composer Dorothy Chang, Leo Kraft, Italian composer Letizia Michielon, as well as Aylward and McMullin, performed by our outstanding Washington Square players.

Louis Karchin's ACA Composer page

Hailed for its "lively, polished performance" (the New York Times), and acclaimed as "among the world's most outstanding new music ensembles" (Fanfare), The Washington Square Ensemble is comprised of some of New York's finest musicians. The core members of the ensemble are flutists Jayn Rosenfeld and Patricia Spencer; oboist Jackie Leclair; clarinetist Alan Kay and Jean Kopperud; percussionists Tom Kolor, Matthew Gold, and Stephen Paysen; pianist Stephen Gosling; violinist Curtis Macomber; violist Lois Martin; cellist Christopher Finckel; bassist Kurt Murocki; and conductors Louis Karchin and Paul Hostetter. The ensemble maintains a flexibility of instrumentation that sets it apart from other contemporary music groups in New York.