Music of Raoul Pleskow presented at Cairn University, Lewis Holmes Hall, April 16th


Apr 16 2013 - 2:30pm

Raoul PleskowRaoul PleskowThe School of Music and the Center for University Studies present Music of Raoul Pleskow. The composer will be in attendance at this concert featuring works composed in honor of Dr. Samuel Hsu. There will be a reception honoring Raoul Pleskow to follow.

Piece for Four Instruments (2012)  (fl, cl, bsn, pf)

Maestro Hsu:  (solo pf)
       His Pavane (2005)
       His Fantasy (2010)
       His Elegy (2011)

  Albumblätter für Marshall (2008)
  “Von meinen Winter bewußt” (“feeling my age”)

• Kimberly Reighly, flute  
• Arne Running, clarinet
• Chuck Holdeman, bassoon
• Marshall Taylor, saxophone
• Ephraim Schäfli, piano

Raoul Pleskow, composer, was born in 1931 in Vienna, Austria. He immigrated to the United States in 1939 and became a naturalized citizen in 1945. From 1950 to 1952 he attended the Julliard School of Music in New york City. In 1956 he, graduated from Queens College, where he studied composition with Karol Rathaus, earning a Bachelor of Music (BM). In 1958 he earned a Masters degree in Music (MM) at Columbia University. His principal teachers in composition were Karol Rathaus, Otto Luening, and Stefan Wolpe.