Martin Boykan's quintet "Diptych" - world premiere Oct. 16th with Cygnus Ensemble at Columbia University


Oct 16 2013 - 7:00pm

Wed. Oct. 16 at 7pm  (Admission FREE)
The Italian Academy hosts the League, ISCM (International Society for Contemporary Music), with new works by Milanese master Giacomo Manzoni, with two of his students--Daniele Venturi and Peyman Farzinpour, with works by composers from the US, Ireland, & Austria--Martin Boykan, Robert Martin, John McLachlan, Dina Koston, Georg Friedrich Haas, and Fred Lerdahl.

The Italian Academy, Columbia University
1161 Amsterdam Avenue

Reception by Sterling Affair in the Italian Academy Library, following the concert.

The program of short works features the Cygnus Ensemble, Bodies Electric (an electric guitar quartet) and Sheer Pluck, the Queens-based guitar ensemble.

Cygnus Ensemble, with guest artists: Soprano Elizabeth Farnum
Bodies Electric  --John Chang, Director, with Dan Lippel, Marc Wolf, & Wm. Anderson
Sheer Pluck --Valentina Savu, Evan Cordes, Eric Anderson, Diego Andrade, Liz Hogg, Christopher Rispoli


Giacomo Manzoni---           Cygnusquintet                         World Premiere

Daniele Venturi---               Alla Luna  (Leopardi)              World Premiere
            featuring Soprano Elizabeth Farnum

Peyman Farzinpour---        (ri)percurso                              World Premiere

John McLachlan---              Youtunes                                   World Premiere
             featuring Bodies Electric

Martin Boykan---                  Diptych                                   World Premiere

Fred Lerdahl        Imbrications                        

Dina Koston---                    In Memory of Jeanette Walters

Robert Martin---                  Selections from Diary of a Seducer
                 featuring Sheer Pluck

Georg Friedrich Haas---     Quartett für 4 Gitarren
                  featuring Sheer Pluck


"The Cygnus Ensemble has long distinguished itself as one of New York's finest new-music ensembles (and has brought about a remarkable amount of excellent music for its unusual configuration).".....Carson Cooman, Fanfare Magazine, January, 2011