Daria Semegen's electroacoustic music celebrated at the 2015 EAW conference in Aveiro, Portugal, Sept 17-20


Sep 17 2015 - 7:00pm
The 1st International Congress for Electroacoustic Music – will take place between the 17th and 20th of September 2015, at the Centro Cultural e de Congressos in Aveiro, Portugal.  Electroacoustic Winds 2015 (EAW) is presented by the Research Centre for Electro-Acoustic Music (CIME) and the Institute for Ethnomusicology – Research Centre for Music and Dance (INET-md) at the University of Aveiro.

EAW 2015 highlights the special participation of the American composers Daria Semegen (1946) and John Chowning (1934) and the French composer Jean-Claude Risset (1938). In addition to the conference, the event also includes a set of workshops for musicians and sound engineers. For the broader public, there will be various lectures and concerts.

With the inclusion of a historiographical approach to electroacoustic music research, the conference covers a wide range of topics related to current research in this field, including:

  • sonification
  • sound and image
  • composition and noise
  • algorithmic composition
  • spatialization
  • synthesis
  • interpretation / performance
  • preservation in live electronics

Guest speakers: Michael Iber, António Sousa Dias, Luís Antunes Pena, Ludger Brümmer, Flo Menezes, Alexander Mihalič, Miguel Azguime.