Cleveland Orchestra and Cleveland Museum of Art collaborate for WORLD PREMIERE of Dane Rudhyar's OUT OF THE DARKNESS


May 1 2013 - 7:30pm

photo by Betty FreemanDane Rudhyarphoto by Betty Freeman James Feddeck conducts the Cleveland Orchestra in the museum’s Gartner Auditorium in works of pioneering and revolutionary 20th-century Californian composers. The programs include works by John Adams, Henry Cowell, Lou Harrison, Terry Riley, James Tenney, and, a posthumous world premiere of OUT OF THE DARKNESS by Dane Rudhyar. The concerts are part of the museum's VIVA! & Gala Performing Arts series, which explores extraordinary performing arts from around the world.  "CALIFORNIA MASTERWORKS" is a collaboration between the Cleveland Orchestra and the Cleveland Museum of Art.  Free pre-concert talk: “The Quest for Nirvana and the Birth of Modern Art” by Case Western Reserve University Professor Henry Adams at 6 p.m.  Concert Tickets: $29-44. Please visit Cleveland orchestra or call the box office at 216-421-7350.

Cleveland Orchestra Concerts
Wednesday, MAY 1, 2013, 7:30 p.m.
The Cleveland Orchestra
James Feddeck, conductor
Stephen Rose, violin
HENRY COWELL: Sinfonietta
DANE RUDHYAR: Out of the Darkness (world premiere)
LOU HARRISON: Suite for Violin and String Orchestra


photo of Ruhyar courtesy of Richard Cameron-Wolfe.