David Evan Jones

Email ACA Regarding This Composer: 


David Evan Jones is a composer with publications in chamber opera, chamber music, computer music, and contemporary music theory. Some of his theoretical and compositional work focuses on structural relationships between phonetics and music.

Jones has worked extensively in computer music, composing in residence at the Elektronmusikstudion (EMS) in Stockholm, at L'Institut de Recherche et de Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM) in Paris, and at Bregman Electronic Music Studio at Dartmouth College (USA) where he co-founded, with Jon Appleton, the Dartmouth graduate program in Electro-Acoustic Music. 

Jones' compositions have been recognized by grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the California Arts Council, and the New Hampshire Arts Council.  He has been honored by a first prize award in the Premio Ancona International Composition Competition (Italy), first prize in the national competition sponsored by the American New Music Consortium, and first prize in the MACRO International Composition Competition (USA). He has received Honorable Mentions in the Prix Ars Electronica, Austria, and in the Bourges (France) Electro-Acoustic Music Competition. 

His articles have appeared in Perspectives of New Music and Computer Music Journal.  His compositions are published by Dorn Publications, American Composers Editions, and on compact disks from Wergo Records, Centaur Records, Contemporary Recording Studios, Musical Heritage Society, and Composers Recordings Inc. 

His first chamber opera, Bardos, received its professional premiere at Hoam Hall in Seoul, Korea in 2004.  He has recently published a CD of "Neo-Balkan Jazz and Concert Music" on Centaur Records and is at work on a second CD of recent chamber music.  

Jones is Professor of Music at the University of California Santa Cruz

ACE Publications

1 Aphorisms (1974)
Piano solo

2 Bardos (1998)
Mezzo soprano, actress, dancers, piano, organ, percussion, women's choir

3 Cubist Staircase (2008)
flute, 'cello, marimba, piano

4 Daicavho za Maiko (1997)
Bb Clarinet & Piano

5 Daichavo za Tatko (1994)

6 DEPARTURES - Version for string trio, daegum, haegum (2010)
daegum, haegum, violin, viola, cello

7 Departures - version for string trio, flute, Bb clarinet (2011)
flute, Bb clarinet, violin, viola, cello

8 EEMULNORI: Memory & Reflection (2005)
violin, piano

solo flute

10 Firefile Variations (1993)
Solo piano


excerpt - Sally Pinkas, piano

11 From Ashes (1997)
Two Pianos

12 Fugue State (1993)
Harpsichord and Flute (optionally doubling baroque flute) OR Violin

13 Hors d'Oeuvres (2002)
violin, clarinet, piano, contrabass, percussion

14 Inbal's Wedding Waltz (2001)

15 Jeju Epilogue - For Gayageum Quartet and Computer Processed Sounds (2012)
Gayageum quartet, computer sound

16 Neo-Balkan Set (2001)
various instrumentation including clarinet, bassoon, piano, contrabass, drums

17 NEWS FROM AFAR (2010)
violin, flute, computer audio

18 ON JEJU ISLAND (2011)
for Gayageum Quartet

19 Pastoral
Male voice (extended vocal techniques) and tape

20 The Rehearsal (2006)
fl,ob,cl,bsn,hn - vln,vla,vcl,cb - perc(1)- pf - MezzoSop, Tenor, Baritone
11 players, 3 solo singers

21 Sestra Prelude (2008)
Gadulka (Bulgarian 'violin') and Piano

22 Still Life Dancing
Three percussion and computer tape (CD)

23 Still LIfe in Wood & Metal (1990)
Three percussion and computer tape (CD)

24 Tangled Branches (2002)
Violin, Bb Clarinet, Cello

25 Terrain (2002)
violin, clarinet, piano, bass, percussion (drumset)

26 Three Small Worlds (2006)
Gayageum (Korean zither), Bb Clarinet, Cello

27 Tibiae (Solo for Four) (1983)
3 flutes (one doubling alto flute and bells), + 1 alto flute

28 Tsedek Chevrati? (2012)
piano, clarinet, bassoon, violin, ‘cello, and computer

29 Yeonpyeong Island (2011)
alto flute, computer sounds


excerpt - for Daegum and electronics

Filter by ensemble type:

Filter by Year Authored