Scott L. Miller, McKnight Composer Fellowship recipient for 2013

2013 McKnight Fellowship WinnerScott L. Miller2013 McKnight Fellowship WinnerACA composer Scott L. Miller has been named a McKnight Composer Fellow for 2013. One of the biggest and most competitive awards for composers in Minnesota, this year's winners are: Randy Bauer, Scott Miller, Joshua Musikantow and David Evan Thomas. The unrestricted cash award ($25,000) is granted to composer winners who live and work in Minnesota, have made a significant artistic contribution to their community and who plan to continue their artistic growth in Minnesota. 

Miller's new work, Consortia received its premiere last weekend at Studio Z in St. Paul. Composed for interactive-electronics and unspecified ensemble, it was performed by the combined forces of the Flying Forms Baroque Ensemble and Zeitgeist, as part of the concert series Early Inspirations, featuring performances of current music inspired by music of the distant past.

Scott Miller is a composer of electroacoustic, orchestral, chamber, choral and multimedia works frequently performed at venues and in exhibitions throughout North America and Europe. His music has been described as 'not for the faint-hearted listener' (Juliet Patterson, and 'inspir[ing] real hope & optimism for the future of electroacoustic music.' (Simon Cummings, Known for his interactive electroacoustic chamber music and experimental performance pieces, Miller has received honors and awards from the Jerome Foundation, the McKnight Fellowship for Composition, the Minnesota State Arts Board, the Central Minnesota State Arts Board, and the MUSICA NOVA 98 International Electroacoustic Music Competition. Recordings of his music have been released on Innova, Eroica, CRS, rarescale and SEAMUS, is published by ACA (American Composers Alliance), Tetractys, and Jeanné.

Miller is a Professor of Music at St. Cloud State University, Minnesota, where he teaches composition, electroacoustic music and theory. He is currently Vice President of Programs for the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the U.S. (SEAMUS). He has lectured on electroacoustic music and composition in universities and secondary schools across the United States, Europe and Mexico. He holds degrees from The University of Minnesota, The University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill and the State University of New York at Oneonta, and has studied composition at the Czech-American Summer Music Institute and the Centre de Creation Musicale Iannis Xenakis.