The Laurel Leaf Award

The Laurel Leaf Certificate of Appreciation was given by ACA nearly every year beginning in 1951, in recognition of "distinguished achievement in fostering and encouraging American music."  Among the recipients of The Laurel Leaf over the years are the Juilliard String Quartet; the American Music Center; Leonard Slatkin; the Minnesota Composers Forum (American Composers Forum); WNYC, New York's public radio; and the Los Angeles Philharmonic New Music Group.

Laurel Leaf Award Recipients




innova Recordings, Philip Blackburn, Director

Phyllis Bryn-Julson, soprano

Harold Rosenbaum, choral conductor

2007Fred Sherry, cellist
2003Greg Smith, The Gregg Smith Singers
1999Lou Rodgers, Producing Artistic Director, Golden Fleece Ltd., The Composers Chamber Theatre
1998David Alan Miller, Music Director, Albany Symphony Orchestra
1997Speculum Musicae
1996Los Angeles Philharmonic New Music Group;
Ernest Fleischmann, Executive Vice President and Managing Director
1995Minnesota Composers Forum
1994Society for New Music; Syracuse- Neva Pilgrim, Program Director
1993Leonard Slatkin
1992Cleveland Chamber Symphony; Edwin London, Music Director
1991The Boston Musica Viva; Richard Pittman, Music Director
1990Center for New Music, University of Iowa / in memoriam,William Hibbard
1989Betty Allen / Harlem School of the Arts / Mimi Stern-Wolfe
1988American Music Center
1987Francis Thorne
American Composers Orchestra
WNYC / New York Public Radio
1986Raymond Des Roches
American Academy in Rome
1985Nicolas Slonimsky
American Society of University Composers
1984Opus One / Max Schubel
Mrs. Ernest S. Heller
1983Lukas Foss
1982The Martha Baird Rockefeller Fund for Music, Inc.
1981Carter Harman / Composers Recordings Inc. (CRI)
1980John Duffy / Meet the Composer
Joseph Machlis
1979Ralph Shapey
Contemporary Chamber Players, University of Chicago
1978James Dixon
1977Arthur Weisberg
The Contemporary Chamber Ensemble
1976Gunther Schuller
1975Nelson Rockefeller
1974Teresa Sterne
1973The MacDowell Colony
1972Leopold Stokowski
1971Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University
1970Otto Luening
Harris Danziger / Third Street Music Settlement School
1969Group for Contemporary Music, Charles Wuorinen and Harvey Sollberger, directors
1968Aaron Copland
1967Radio Station WBAI, New York
Fromm Foundation
Composers Forum
1966Henry A. Moe
Lawrence Morton
1965Henry Cowell
Avery Claflin
Elizabeth Ames
1964Walter Hinrichsen
Margaret L. Crofts
Max Pollikoff
1963Carl Haverlin
Claire Reis
1962Bethany Beardslee
Hugh Ross
Samuel Rosenbaum
1961Mrs. Helen Thompson
William Strickland
1960Howard Mitchell
Oliver Daniel
1959Martha Graham
Jack Benny
1958Thor Johnson

Howard Hanson
Juilliard String Quartet

1956Robert Whitney
1955George Szell
1954Green Bay (WI) Symphonietta
1953Dr. Herman Neuman
1952Maro and Anahid Ajemian
1951Radio Station WGBH, Boston