AMC 2011 Awards recipients: John Harbison, William Bolcom, and the Copland House; So Percussion and the Walden School

The American Music Center is honored to announce the recipients of its 2011 Awards. Founders Award: John Harbison; Letter of Distinction: William Bolcom and the Copland House; Trailblazer Award: So Percussion; New Music Educator Award: The Walden School. “The American Music Center has the happy duty of recognizing those who make the biggest contribution to new American music and each year it is our great pleasure to do so,” AMC President and CEO Joanne Hubbard Cossa comments. “Once more we are astounded with the talent, dedication, and zeal exhibited by this group of honorees. They have dedicated their lives to energizing and advancing the field, and their myriad contributions speak to their excellence, innovation, and commitment to service.

“The American Music Center is thrilled to confer its Founders Award on John Harbison. A beacon in the field and recipient of many previous awards, he not only composes and conducts, but shares his wisdom and talents with others through teaching.” She continues, “This year’s Letter of Distinction will be awarded to William Bolcom and Copland House. William Bolcom’s enduring legacy is a source of inspiration for all who have come in contact with his talent in both composition and the classroom. Both an historic landmark and a haven for those wanting to hone their craft, the Copland House preserves the spirit and history of the field. It is our great honor to recognize these two

“Our previous Trailblazer Award winners have all shown dedication to their field and craft, abundant energy, as well as the emergence of a new and powerful voice, and So Percussion is no exception. The field of new American music is benefitting greatly from their innovative talent and we are pleased to honor their previous accomplishments and look forward to hearing more from this passionate ensemble.” Ms. Cossa concludes, “The Walden School is the recipient of our New Music Educator Award, honoring their creative philosophy and curriculum, as well as their contribution toward motivating and mentoring decades of successful students.”