ACA welcomes new board members Liptak, Rockmaker, Zahler

ACA members elected three new members of the Board of Governors of ACA for the term beginning Oct. 1st.  Composers David Liptak, Jody Rockmaker, and Noel Zahler will join ACA President Beth Wiemann, and fellow board members Ross Bauer, Richard Cameron-Wolfe, Robert Carl, David Froom, Robert Gibson, Barbara Jazwinski, Lewis Nielson, Christopher Shultis, and Burr Van Nostrand.

David Liptak, is Professor of Composition at the Eastman School of Music, where he has taught since 1986. Previously, he served on the composition and theory faculties of the University of Illinois and Michigan State University.

Jody Rockmaker has taught at Stanford University, the San Francisco Conservatory Preparatory School, and Arizona State University where he is currently an Associate Professor.

Noel Zahler is presently Dean of the School of Visual and Performing Arts at LIU Post. He has served as the Head of the Carnegie Mellon School of Music, Director of the University of Minnesota School of Music and Chair of the department of music at Connecticut College. His research is in computer assisted live performance.

ACA composer Board members meet as a group with Board advisors with expertise in law, nonprofit compliance, curatorial issues, publishing and licensing. As many as three meetings take place in New York City each year. The groups discusses and votes on matters of policy and practice for the organization. Subcommittees of the board meet or work via email on specific membership issues and report to the full Board.