Print Edition Price: 

$17.50 full score

Year Authored (or revised): 



2+pic,2+Eh,2+bscl,2+cbsn; 4,3,2+bstbn,1; timp, perc(4), hp, strings

Duration (min): 


Composer's note:  Dusk, for large orchestra, is the middle movement of a projected three-movement piece. It was chosen as one of the works to be read by the Berkeley Symphony (Kent Nagano, Music Director) during its annual Under Construction series. The reading took place on April 27, 2003 at St. John’s Church, Berkeley with George Thomson conducting.

In a medium slow tempo throughout, Dusk consists primarily of music whose character is restrained, lyrical, and reflective, but there are several more overtly intense passages. In particular, a climactic section dominated by brass and unpitched percussion occurs about two thirds of the way through the piece. The oboe and English Horn, both as soloists, and in combination with other instruments, are emphasized at key moments of the movement -- at its beginning and end as well as at a few other junctures. In Dusk, trios of like instruments -- two flutes and piccolo; two oboes and English Horn; two B-flat clarinets and bass clarinet; as well as strings -- are often employed as primary. This is a different kind of orchestration than found in most of my other music for orchestra which uses mixed colors to a much greater extent.

Ensemble Type: 

2Fl, Pic, 2Ob, EH (doubling Oboe III), 2 B-flat Clar, Bscl (with C extension) 2Bsn, Cbsn, 4hn, 3tpt in C, 2TenorTbn, Bstbn, Tba, 4 Timpani,Percussion (4), Hp, 5-part strings; Percussion List -- 4 players:I -- Marimba, 4 Tom-Toms, Bongos, Snare Drum. II -- Vibraphone. III -- Small, Medium, and Large Suspended Cymbals, Triangle, Tam-Tam.
IV -- Glockenspiel, Snare Drum, Bass Drum.
Place a print order or inquire about this work