RESOUND! for orchestra


Print Edition Price: 

$32.95 conductor's score
$79.95 score with parts, strings 33321

Year Authored (or revised): 



2fl(picc), 2ob, EH, 2cl, sax, 2bn, 4hn, 2tp, 3 tbn, timp, perc. strings

Duration (min): 




Commissioned by the Vermont Youth Orchestra (40th anniversary)and the Burlington First Night (20th anniversary).

RESOUND ! Was commissioned by First Night Burlington in celebration of its 20th anniversary and in honor of the 40th anniversary of the Vermont Youth Orchestra. It was first performed by that orchestra under Troy Peters on “first night,” December 31, 2002.

Crafted to its purpose, my concert overture (or: my concert fanfare) variously answers the challenge if its title: RESOUND !  extols the contributions of both the VYO and First Night Burlington to Northern Vermont’s vital cultural life. The music prolongs, by continuous repetition, two lively motifs: one mainly rhythmic in nature, the other melodic. With each reverberation the freshness of the primary melody is renewed by changes in orchestration and harmony, and by means of transposition and contrapuntal embellishment.

Ensemble Type: 

Place a print order or inquire about this work