Sonata Academica (Op. 23)


Print Edition Price: 

$24.95 score + part

Year Authored (or revised): 



alto saxophone, piano

Duration (min): 



I. Andante con moto
II. Lentissimo, quasi senza misura
III. Allegro non troppo

First Performance: 

Joseph Abad and Elisabeth Tomczyk, 2011.

Composer's note:

The first movement is in a neoclassical style, with two themes in opposing keys, a blustery development, and a conclusive recapitulation. The second movement is an exploration of how the precepts of sonata form may be applied in a serial context. The third movement, in a loose rondo form, serves as a conclusion to the entire work; large-scale harmonic motion from the first movement is balanced (the first movement’s move up from C to E-flat is answered with a move downward from C to A), while making use of some of the melodic gestures heard in the preceding movements.

Ensemble Type: 

solo inst+keyboard
Internal Fields


alto saxophone
Place a print order or inquire about this work