Print Edition Price: 

$39.95 score + part

Year Authored (or revised): 



violin, piano

Duration (min): 


Text Source/Author: 

inspired by authors as listed.

Arrangement of Four Rhapsodies for Violin and Orchestra

I. Where the Slow River Meets the Tide
II. Once, in Finesse of Fiddles Found I Ecstasy
III. That Which Sets Me Nightest to Weeping
IV. And All the Secret Places Shot With Fire

Ensemble Type: 

solo inst+keyboard
duo inst or voices

Composer's note: Each of the FOUR RHAPSODIES gets its title from a line of verse by one of three poets associated with the early twentieth-century Imagist movement. Hilda Doolittle (H.D.) opened her poem LEDA with Where the slow river meets the tide. T. E. Hulme began THE EMBANKMENT with Once, in finesse of fiddles found I ecstasy. Richard Aldington wrote That which sets me nighest to weeping (AU VIEUX JARDIN) as well as And all the secret places shot with fire (LOSS). The work is dedicated to violinist Vladimir Tsypin.

Place a print order or inquire about this work