Alternate Title: 

Mühlfeld Dances

Print Edition Price: 

$24.50 full score
$21.50 set of 5 parts

Year Authored (or revised): 



Clarinet quintet (Bb clarinet & string quartet)

Duration (min): 


First Performance: 

The Hoff-Barthelson Festival of Contemporary Music (NY), May 20, 2018

In 1890, the 57-year old Johannes Brahms retired from composing, telling a friend that he “had achieved enough” and was looking forward to “a carefree old age [he] could enjoy in peace.” Only months later, he heard the clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld perform Mozart's Clarinet Quintet and Weber's Clarinet Concerto, and was so taken with Mühlfeld’s virtuosity and musicality that he came out of retirement and composed his Clarinet Trio, Clarinet Quintet, and two Clarinet Sonatas, all dedicated to Mühlfeld.

The majority of the clarinet part of Mühlfeldtänze (“Mühlfeld Dances”) is comprised of licks and passages from Brahms’ Clarinet Quintet – at times quoted verbatim, at times slightly altered – recontextualized in a syncopated, jazz-inspired, dance-like framework.

Mühlfeldtänze was commissioned by the Aaron Copland House and the Hoff-Barthelson Music School.

Ensemble Type: 

string quartet (alone or + inst or voc)
Internal Fields


Place a print order or inquire about this work