Alternate Title: 


Year Authored (or revised): 



bass clarinet, marimba, audio fixed media, audience participation

Duration (min): 


Text Source/Author: 

Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 BC): "Against Cataline."

I. O tempora!
II. O mores!
III. O di inmortales! [Chorale "Es ist genug" - Aria]

Agitprop was commissioned by the Alba Music Festival (Italy) for the duo Transient Canvas.
The piece is a response to our current political climate of Orwellian doublespeak, profiteering, hypocrisy, and a corrupt oligarchy. Es ist genug!

There is a fixed media stereo file to be played back during the piece. Additionally, there are multiple individual audio files to be downloaded by audience members onto their smartphones and played during the piece.



Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 BC): "Against Cataline."
Published in: "The Orations of Marcus Tullius Cicero, literally translated by C. D. Yonge." London: Henry G. Bohn, 1856.

Caius Memmius (d.100 BC): "On a Corrupt Oligarchy" [translation by John Selby Watson in 1852]
Published in: Bryan, William Jennings, ed. "The world’s famous orations." New York: Funk and Wagnalls Company, 1906.

Print Edition Price: 

available soon
Place an order/Inquire about this work