Print Edition Price: 

$27.95 score part
PDF-Download File Options
License and download digital files
[Liptak] Impromptus - Score and Part



Year Authored (or revised): 


Instrumentation : 

violin and piano

Duration (min): 



1. Rhapsodic, 2. Lyrical, 3. Quick and Agile

First Performance: 

Renée Jolles, violin, Margaret Kampmeier, piano. Kilbourn Hall at the Eastman School of Music. January 29th, 2017.

IMPROMPTUS, for violin and piano, is a set of three pieces which take their titles from the performance indications in the music: 1. Rhapsodic, 2. Lyrical, and 3. Quick and Agile. The first well known group of pieces called "impromptus" are those written as Op. 90 and Op. 142 by Franz Schubert, and these pieces are firmly embedded as classics in 19th-century piano literature. The first of my three IMPROMPTUS begins with a sustained octave in the piano, a nod to the first on the set of four in Schubert's Op. 90. Written for and premiered by violinist Renée Jolles, these three pieces are lyical in nature and have a lightness in form, shifting the musical shape from moment to moment.    - note by David Liptak


Ensemble Type: 

solo inst+keyboard
duo inst or voices
Internal Fields


Place a print order or inquire about this work