VOX NATURAE, Concerto for Brass Quintet and Orchestra


Year Authored (or revised): 



orch: 2/pic-2/eh-2/bcl-2/cbsn; brass 5tet: 2-1-1-1; str; perc (3)

Duration (min): 




First Performance: 

NOV.,1992 - Western Brass Quintet, Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra., Yoshimi Takeda, Cond., Miller Auditorium, Kalamazoo.

A concerto for brass quintet and orchestra, Vox Naturae is an homage to the Earth. It draws its ideas of sound and movement from the writings of the anthopologist and naturalist Loren Eiseley, whose "The Immense Journey" was the catalyst and inspiration for the composition. The three movements are titled: 1. The Flow of the River; 2. The Great Deeps; 3. The Judgement of the Birds. The solo brass instrument parts vary considerably in level of difficulty as the piece progresses, and 4 kinds of mutes are employed among the 5 instruments throughout. Most of the performance techniques could be considered standard, but none the less,the piece requires advanced brass performers and a strong orchestra.

Place an order/Inquire about this work