Symphony No. 1, Millennium Voyage


Alternate Title: 

Millennium Voyage

Year Authored (or revised): 


Instrumentation : 

Pic, 2fl, 2ob, EH, 2cl, bscl, 2bsn, cbsn, 4hn, 3tpt, 2tbn, bstbn, tba, Timp, Perc(5), Harp, Piano/Celeste and Strings

Duration (min): 



Harbor Entrance, Moderately slow
Island Walk, Calmly and deliberate
Sunny Diversion, Fast, with drive
Hidden Jewel, Flowing and expressive
Wind Play, Fast with drive

First Performance: 

October 1, 2010, Ljubljana, Slovenian R/T Orchestra, Festival UNICUM, En Shao, conductor

Symphony No. 1, Millennium Voyage by Daniel Perlongo is in five continuous movements.

1) Harbor Entrance, Moderately slow, begins with a distant timpani and high muted violins. Fragmentary lines participate in a rather stately, transparent texture as an introduction to this internal voyage.

In 2) Island Walk, Calmly and deliberate, the flute, violin, and piccolo respond antiphonally to each other, and with a layering of ostinati, form a background for the viola solo.

3) Sunny Diversion, Fast, with drive, grows out of the bassoon, clarinet and woodwind lines, resembling a fugal exposition. A full orchestral fabric is gradually created by attenuating, coloring, and extending those beginning gestures. This builds to arrivals heralded by trumpet and timpani sounds that gradually fade into

4) Hidden Jewel, Flowing and expressive, introduced by gong and bell.

5) Wind Play, Fast, with drive, takes up the woodwind theme from Sunny Diversion and fulfills its developmental promise – it sings, dances and celebrates in sound this imaginary voyage into the new millennium.

Five continuous movements.

perc:  Bass Drum, Snare Drum, 2 Gongs, 2 Suspended Cymbals, Antique Cymbal, Triangle, Tambourine, Wood Block, Maracas, 3 Temple Blocks), Xylophone, Vibraphone, Tubular Bells, Glockenspiel

Listening Sample: 

Place an order/Inquire about this work