String Quartet No. 4


Print Edition Price: 

$29.95 score + 4 parts

Year Authored (or revised): 


Instrumentation : 

string quartet

Duration (min): 



contact ACA

First Performance: 

June 19, 2010 The Zukofsky Quartet

STRING QUARTET No. 4 was composed in the winter and spring of 2009.  Although some twelve-tone techniques are used in some passages, each of the four movements is freely atonal, with moments of tonality thrown in for good measure. Most of the material for each movement grows out of the initial gesture of the first: tonal, descending tetrachords in parallel major sevenths.

The first movement suggests a traditional sonata form with several contrasting thematic ideas presented, developed, combined and restated. The second movement is a free fantasy-style piece in a somewhat somber mood. The third movement is a multi-sectional structure meant to resemble a traditional scherzo. The final movement is a rhythmically vigorous finale combining features of sonata form and rondo form. Performance materials available from the American Composers Alliance.

Ensemble Type: 

string quartet (alone or + inst or voc)

Listening Sample: 

Place a print order or inquire about this work