Year Authored (or revised): 



Narrator, Tenor, childrens' choir, chorus, jazz quartet (Bb tpt, piano, electric bass, drums); orch: 2-2-2-2; 2-2-0-0 timp, strings

Duration (min): 


Text Source/Author: 

Text: Robert Hayden ( Visuals:Stanley Madeja)

First Performance: 

Dedication of the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Social Change. Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Robert Shaw, conductor; William Brown, tenor. 1982

Commissioned by Union United Methodist Church, Boston

I. Introduction              
II. Deliverance -  Keep Me from Sinkin' Down
III. Image - This Little Light of Mine                             
IV. Faith  - Mother, Is Master Goin' to Sell Us?                              
V. Wilderness -  I Couldn't Hear Nobody Pray
VI. Fantasy for Orchestra

Print Edition Price: 

$55 full score
Place an order/Inquire about this work