Nonsense Music


Alternate Title: 

Nonsense Music

Year Authored (or revised): 



Mezzo Sop, piano

Duration (min): 




Text Source/Author: 

Ben Johnson, D'Arcy Wentworth Thompson, Anonymous, all PD

1. A Man Who Wasn't; 2. Sylvan Catch; 3. Peas with Honey; 4. One Fine October Morning; 5. A Little Bit Wrong  



Five short song settings of five nonsense poems (three anonymous, two credited), which reflects my childhood in New Zealand. In colonial countries, a love of the absurd and the enjoyment of wordplay are paramount – an inheritance from Great Britain. The genesis of this work, ‘Sylvan Catch’, was written as a student assignment in 1987. All the other songs were written on one day in September, 2006.

PDF available

Listening Sample: 

Place an order/Inquire about this work