Year Authored (or revised): 


Scoring: - – perc, pno, strings

Duration (min): 


Part of the composer's Schuman Trilogy, Figments & Fragments is an orchestral fantasy, often performed as a stand-alone piece.

Based on the enigmatic figure of Robert Schumann – a brilliantly gifted composer and writer who ascended to the pinnacle of the music world, only to end his days in an insane asylum.  The work starts with a favorite form of Schumann’s – a set of linked character pieces –gradually allowing the cracks between the pieces to expand and overwhelm the narrative.  The piece ends with chilling evocation of the composer’s final paralysis.

It was a consortium commission for the Robert Schumann Bicentennial by the Idyllwild Arts Academy, the Boise Philharmonic, the University of Utah, the Salt Lake Symphony and the Mansfield Symphony.


Print Edition Price: 

$26.95 legal size full score
Place an order/Inquire about this work