Doll's House


Doll's House

Quick View

6 singers with keyboards, or 6 singers with chamber orchestra


Alternate Title
A Doll's House - Chamber Opera in Three Acts
Year Authored (or revised)
Duration (min)




A Doll's House - an original opera by Raymond Luedeke - is based on Henrik Ibsen's shocking 19th Century drama. This 3-act opera tells the story of Nora, a seemingly typical housewife, who becomes disillusioned and dissatisfied with the rules of marriage and  society. The sound of a slamming door, associated with Ibsen's 1879 play, has become an iconic symbol of human liberty.

Henrik Ibsen (1828-1906) is the most performed playwright in the world (after Shakespeare). He is considered to be the father of modern theater and introduced to the stage a new order of moral analysis that was placed against a severely realistic middle-class background. His plays addressing the role of women in society, and of human rights in general, include A Doll’s House, Ghosts, Hedda Gabler, and The Lady from the Sea.


Two versions of this opera:

Version 1. with orchestra :

6 singers (soprano, 2 mezzo sopranos, tenor, baritone, bass-baritone) piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English Horn, 2 clarinets (2nd doubling Eb Clarinet), bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba harp, celesta
timpani, 2 percussion (xylophone, vibraphone, glockenspiel, 2 susp. cymbals, 2 tam tams, 2 snare drums, 2 bongos, 3 tom toms, tenor drum, bass drum) Strings

Version 2 :
6 singers (soprano, 2 mezzo sopranos, tenor, baritone, bass-baritone) piano, synthesizer


Vocal range(s)
soprano B3-C6
mezzo soprano A3-A5
mezzo soprano G2-G4
tenor D3-C5
baritone G2-G4
bass-baritone E2-F4

First Perfomance
version 1 premiere: March 13, 2020 National Opera Center, New York City


Text Language - Non English


Text Source/Author
A Doll's House by Henrik Ibsen 1879
A Doll's House English translation by William Archer 1889
Adapted by the composer, Raymond Luedeke, 2020
Ensemble Type
solo voice(s)+2 to 6 instruments
solo voice(s)+large ensemble or orchestra


Files & Media



Sample Pages


Purchase Options
Print & Ship
PDF Download
PDF Price