Raoul Pleskow


Raoul Pleskow, composer, was born in 1930 in Vienna, Austria and educated in New York City. His principal teachers in composition were Karol Rathaus, and Otto Luening. Stefan Wolpe was his close friend and colleague. Pleskow has been recipient of many honors, the most recent of which include awards by the National Endowment for the Arts, the Martha Baird Rockefeller Fund for Music, the National Institute of Arts and Letters, and a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

His works have been performed by the Cleveland Philharmonic, the Tanglewood Festival Orchestra, the Plainfield Symphony, the Orchestra de Camera, the South Dakota Symphony, the Pierrot Consort, the Stony Brook Contemporary Chamber Players, the Queens Symphony Orchestra and many others. Commissions include those by the Chamber Players of the Kennedy Center, the Aeolian Chamber Players, the New York Virtuosi, Camarata, the North/South Consonance and the Unitarian Church of All Souls. He was Chairman of the music department at C.W. Post University from the late 1960s until 1994. His work can be found on CRI, Serenus, Ars Nova-Ars Antiqua, Golden Crest, Centaur, CRS, Capstone, and North-South Records.

His music has been published and administered by American Composers Alliance since 1966 and ACA regrets to announce his passing May 18, 2022 in Douglaston, NY.

ACE Publications

3 title(s)
Raoul Pleskow Four Bagatelles for String Quartet
vln 1, vln 2, vla, vcl
fl, ob, cl, bsn, hn, 2vln, vla, vcl, db
Raoul Pleskow KONZERTSTUCK for CL, TPT, STR QUARTET sextet: clarinet, trumpet, string quartet

Additional Works