Richard Brooks cantata L'apres-midi d'un Schoenberg, in two performances - University of North Texas, and New York City, Sept. 17, 22


Sep 22 2014 - 7:30pm

UNT Music Library and College of Music present: Pierrot Throughout the World:
A Concert by The UNT Pierrot Chamber Players
Dr. Arturo Ortega, conductor

Wednesday, September 17​ at 8:00 PM
Voertman Hall, UNT College of Music
415 Avenue C
Denton, TX 76203

Monday, September 22 at 7:30 PM
Austrian Cultural Forum
11 E. 52nd St.
New York, NY  10022

Ode to Joy (on a hillside) (Sc. 2)Works to be performed include Pierrot Lunaire by Arnold Schoenberg, and the premiere of a new work by Richard Brooks, for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and four solo singers. L’apres-midi d’un Schoenberg is a mini-cantata on a subject suggested by four photographs from the personal collection of Arnold Greissle-Schönberg. Set in 1907, the summer before Mathilde Schönberg’s elopement with the painter Richard Gerstl, the composer calls his new work "affectionately humorous."

The UNT Music Library and College of Music will present a collaborative event to celebrate the newly acquired archive of Dr. Richard Brooks, as well as a visit by Brooks, and Dr. Nancy Bogen and Mr. Arnold Greissle-Schönberg.

The UNT Pierrot Chamber Players will perform, with Dr. Arturo Ortega, conductor.

The UNT Pierrot Chamber Players is a chamber ensemble comprised of some of the most talented and versatile musicians with ties to the UNT College of Music and Music Library. Among them are current doctoral music students, recent and prominent alumni, and current and former faculty. The group is under the direction of Dr. Arturo Ortega of the UNT Music Library and alumnus of the UNT College of Music (Doc. Musical Arts, 2002).