ACA News and Events

"To encourage the inclusion of American works in the programs of performers and performing organizations.”
-- "Aims of the Alliance," from ACA Bulletin, Vol 1, No. 1, April 1938


ACA composers at the Back Cove Festival of Contemporary Music, Portland Maine, April 9 - 12

Maine composers (L to R): Gregory Hall, Elliott Schwartz, Beth WiemannMaine composers (L to R): Gregory Hall, Elliott Schwartz, Beth Wiemann


In its seventh year, the Back Cove Festival of Contemporary Music at the Portland Conservatory of Music will present an engaging series of contemporary music concerts in Portland, Maine from April 9 to 12. Compositions by ACA members Elliott Schwartz, Gregory Hall and Beth Wiemann will be featured on several concerts at the festival.

Music of Matthew Greenbaum, with the Momenta Quartet, April 2 and 27


Monday, April 27, 2015 - 7:30pm

Matthew Greenbaum, composerThe Momenta Quartet featured composer this spring is Matthew Greenbaum, one of the earliest supporters of the quartet. Momenta premiered his work “More Venerable Canons” on February 25th at Tenri Gallery in Manhattan. Stephanie Griffin sat down with the composer recently for this interview.

Upcoming concerts:

April 2nd, 8pm - The Red Note New Music Festival at Illinois State University presents the Momenta Quartet program:

Eric Nathan: Four to One (2011), written for Momenta
Matthew Greenbaum: More Venerable Canons (2013), written for Momenta

Music of Ross Bauer and Daniel Tacke featured in Earplay's 30th Anniversary Season -

Thalia Moore, Ellen Ruth Rose, Terrie Baune, Peter Josheff, Mary Chun, Brenda Tom, Tod Brody


Earplay’s 30th anniversary season continued on Monday, March 16 at San Francisco’s ODC Theater, with world premiere performances of works by Ross Bauer, Christopher Wendell Jones, and Richard Festinger. Also on the program was Terry Riley’s  String Trio: the composer’s early 60’s graduate thesis, and one of his his initial ventures into tape looping. To round out the evening, Earplay performed Daniel Tacke’s  Im Rückblick, the winner of the 2014 Aird Competition. Congratulations to the winner of the 2014
Earplay Donald Aird Composers Competition: im Rückblick by Daniel Tacke.  The concert ended with Chen Yi’s Happy Rain on a Spring Night.

Sonic Excursions at the Washington Square Contemporary Music Society


Sunday, March 29, 2015 - 8:00pm

The Washington Square Contemporary Music Society presents the second concert of its season, Sonic Excursions, at the Tenri Institute on Sunday, March 29 at 8 PM.

Address: 43A West 13th St., (between 5th and 6th Aves.)
General admission: $15
Students and seniors: $8
NYU students attend free of charge with their school ID

Marilyn Bliss - world premiere of "It was the wind" for alto flute and Native American flute, March 10


Tuesday, March 10, 2015 - 6:00pm


Tuesday March 10th, 2015, at 6pm

MUSIC at St. PAUL Concert series

St Paul's Chapel
Columbia University
Amsterdam Avenue at 117th St
New York City

2 Flutes ensemble— Laura Falzon & Pamela Sklar flutes, with Daniel Beliavsky, piano

Tickets: FREE

2Flutes presents TWO RIVERS, a  program of works for two flutes and piano.

Elliott Schwartz's Memorabilia for Piano to be Performed at Boston University, Friday, March 20


Friday, March 20, 2015 - 8:00pm

Elliot SchwartzElliot Schwartz

Elliott Schwartz's Memorabilia for piano is to be performed in concert at Boston University, Friday, March 20 at 8:00pm as part of The College Music Society's 36th Northeast Regional Conference.  The two-day conference, taking place March 20-21st focuses on programs that consider the philosophy and practice of music as an integral part of higher education.  Performing the piano suite will be Katie Cushing, piano.  

Elliot Schwartz's Memorabilia  @ The College Music Society's 36th Northeast Regional Conference
Friday, March 20th 2015
Boston University College of Fine Arts
855 Commonwealth Avenue Boston, MA 02215

Concert begins at 8:00pm.  Learn more and register for the conference here.  

Memorabalia is a suite comprised of 12 movements for piano solo, with optional assistants. Four of the movements are theatrical. In one movement, a narrator selects a poem (in the language of the audience) not longer than 8 - 10 lines; He/she does not inform the pianist of the poem ahead of time.  Read a fascinating note from the composer here about the creation and inspiration of this piece.  

Gheorghe Costinescu at 80 - Retrospective Concert - Merkin Concert Hall, May 5


Tuesday, May 5, 2015 - 8:00pm

Gheorghe CostinescuACA and Friends of Gheorghe Costinescu co-present a retrospective concert in honor of composer Gheorghe Costinescu, with artists including Stephen Gosling, piano; Lucy Shelton, soprano, the Lehman Percussionists, Aaron Kahn, trumpet, and violinist, Cyrus Stephens.

SONATA FOR THE PIANO (1957, 2007-08)
ESSAY IN SOUND for the piano (2011)
ONE MINUTE TRIBUTE: 9/11/01 for four percussionists (2002) The Lehman Percussionists |
Short film (2015) World premiere with his animation of Tribute in Light - Moment of Silence - photographed by Dan Nguyen (2009)

CITY WAVES: A Portrait in Sound of New York (1985, 2013) Collage of electronic New York premiere and concrete sounds
VOICES WITHIN for solo violin (1989)
TAI CHI ON THE HUDSON for string quartet and animation

Robert Carl Presents Five Compositions in Celebration of his 60th Birthday Sunday, March 1st


Sunday, March 1, 2015 - 2:00pm

Robert CarlRobert CarlRobert Carl will be presenting a recital of his music in celebration of his 60th birthday at Hartford University on Sunday, March 1st, at 2pm.  The concert will feature five pieces, two of which are premieres of new versions.  Perfomers include Janet Arms and Michelle Stockman, flutes; Matt Russo, trombone; Katie Lansdale, violin; Margreet Francis, piano; Elizabeth Brown, shakuhachi; and the violin studio of Katie Lansdale, with Matt Norman on viola.

Robert Carl's Birthday Concert
Sunday, March 1st at 2pm
Hartford Universty
200 Bloomfield Ave West Hartford, CT 06117
Berkman Recital Hall

The concert will also be streamed online for those who wish to enjoy it remotely.  

John Eaton's and Brian Fennelly's Compositions to be Performed in Memorial Concert for Stephen Leibholz


Tuesday, February 24, 2015 - 7:30pm

John Eaton's Ad Luciam Beatricem and Brian Fennelly's Memoria: Ballade, Babittelle, & Eidolon will be performed at a memorial concert for Stephen W. Leibholz.  The concert features music for voice and piano, and will take place on Tuesday, February 24th at 7:30pm at Saint Peter's Church.  

The memorial concert also includes works by Nataliya Medvedovskaya, Richard D. Russell, Cesar Vuksic, Martin Halpern, Debra Kaye, and Dana Dimitri Richardson.  The performers are Sofia Dimitrova and Jacqueline Thompson, soprano, Phoebe Haines, mezzo-soprano, Jim Trainor, baritone, David Keberle, clarinet, Haim Avitsur, trombone, Stanichka Dimitrova, violin, James Waldo, cello, Michael Brofman, Earl Buys, Nataliya Medvedovskaya, Simon Mulligan, and Christopher Oldfather, piano.  

There will be a wine-and-cheese reception following the concert.  Suggested donation of $20; free for students.  

A Memorial Concert for Stephen W. Leibholz:
Music for Voice and Piano
Tuesday, February 24th at 7:30pm 
Saint Peter's Church at Citigroup Center
619 Lexington Avenue at 54th Street, New York City

Produced by New York Composers Circle.  


Subscribe to American Composers Alliance RSS