ACA News and Events

"To encourage the inclusion of American works in the programs of performers and performing organizations.”
-- "Aims of the Alliance," from ACA Bulletin, Vol 1, No. 1, April 1938


Circling by David Froom, Radius Ensemble in Boston, Nov. 14


Saturday, November 14, 2015 - 8:00pm

Radius EnsembleThe Radius Ensemble will perform music by David Froom, Beethoven, Jonathan Bailey Holland, and Sicilian composer Enzo Rao Camemi, at the Longy School of Music in Harvard Square.

David Froom’s Circling, in which two instruments converse, dance, and duel with each other over the course of three movements, revealing their own “voices” and the harmonies and dissonances they create together.

Saturday, November 14, 2015 at 8pm
Pickman Hall, Longy School of Music


Music of Nicholas Maw, David Froom, Stephen Jaffe, and Caroline Shaw, at the Smithsonian, Nov. 7


Saturday, November 7, 2015 - 5:00pm

21st-Century Consort

The Smithsonian American Art Museum’s artists in residence perform “the music of our times” inspired by the museum’s exhibitions and collections.
Christopher Kendall, leading musicians from the National Symphony Orchestra and other accomplished artists, is excited to present a special fortieth-anniversary season.

The Consort kicks off its season with a tribute to the exhibition Irving Penn: Beyond Beauty, presenting works that push the boundaries of art. This performance highlights composers Nicholas Maw, David Froom, Stephen Jaffe, and Caroline Shaw.

Social Band premieres choral work LATE AND SOON by Thomas L. Read on fall series Nov. 7-15

                 Thomas L. Read


Dates, Venues and Times: Multiple; listed below

Admission is by suggested donation of $15. Tickets are available at the door.

For more information, visit or call (802) 355-4216


Social Band, an a cappella choir based in Burlington, Vermont, will premiere a new work by Thomas L. Read this month. Social Band “presents choral music to the public, encourages new compositions especially by local composers, and fosters the joyful and thought-provoking expression of music.” Read’s work, Late And Soon: Six Climate Choruses a cappella, is in six movements: Twilight, Resistance, Bike Politic, Savor, Winter Green, and One Hundred Years to Come.

Scott L Miller's ACCRETION - premiere by Ensemble U, Nov. 3rd


Tuesday, November 3, 2015 - 8:00pm

Tallin-based Ensemble U: will be in residence at St. Cloud State University (MN) November 1 – 3, 2015. During their residency, Ensemble U: will present workshops on entrepreneurship, improvisation, and visual music. The residency will culminate in a concert of electroacoustic works by U.S. and Estonian composers, featuring four world premieres. Sponsored by the SCSU School of the Arts Creative Series and the Fuller Residency Fund. All activities take place in Gant Recital Hall in the Performing Arts Center, are free, and open to the public.

Ensemble U: (Taavi Kerikmäe, piano; Levi-Danel Mägila, violoncello; Tarmo Johannes, flute; Merje Roomere, violin; Helena Tuuling, clarinet; Vambola Krigul, percussion)

Lawrence Dillon's quartet "What Happened" with Garth Newel Piano Quartet in VA, Oct. 28


Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 7:00pm

Chamber Music of Lawrence Dillon Performed by Garth Newel Piano Quartet on October 28 at Appomattox Regional Governor's School in Petersburg, Virginia

Lawrence Dillon’s What Happened for violin, viola, cello, and piano will be presented by the Garth Newel Piano Quartet as part of their October 28 at 7:00 PM concert at Appomattox Regional Governor's School for the Arts & Technology, 512 West Washington Street in Petersburg, Virginia.

John Gibson's Out of Hand performed by NC Symphony Special Events, Oct. 29th


Thursday, October 29, 2015 - 9:00pm

NC Symphony presents "Mission Red" a special event concert featuring music for brass, keyboard, and electronics. Artists performing music of John Gibson, Eric Ewazen, James Mobberley, and Michael Davis, include Jonathan Randazzo, trombone; Alex Fioto, trumpet; Olga Kleiankina, keyboard. Tickets are $13 and available online or at the door of Kings, in Raleigh.

KHORIKOS presents “Modern Masters,” an evening of contemporary choral music and world premieres, on 11/7/15


Saturday, November 7, 2015 - 7:30pm



            Robert Carl


Date: Saturday, November 7, 2015

Time: 7:30 pm

Location: The Shrine Church of St. Anthony of Padua, 155 Sullivan Street, New York

Admission: $20 suggested donation at the door; purchase advance tickets at this link


Choral ensemble KHORIKOS unveils their inaugural concert of their Modern Masters series, dedicated to “celebrating the composers and works at the cutting edge of choral music.”


Subscribe to American Composers Alliance RSS